1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Etiquette question...

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Voolfie, Oct 9, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Voolfie

Voolfie Member

When I started shooting trap as a boy in the late '70s, I was taught by the oldtimers to turn CLOCKWISE away from the post when I left post five. I was told that by doing it that way I wouldn't inadvertently point my muzzle at the individual at post four.

I've noticed that not many folks do it so I'm wondering if anyone else ever heard of this particular point of etiquette.

Cheers.

J.F. Wolfington
    Wilmington, DE

2. Oregunner

Oregunner Well-Known Member

Yes, that is the proper ettiquette after shooting Post 5. I also know which silverware to use when, but I don't jump on people shooting practice for not doing it, as they usually are new or casual shooters, and have enough to think about as it is. You can step back and turn left, pointing your gun up or down and not cause a safety issue. I'm more concerned with everyone being safe, then which way you dance. Once a person gets serious about shooting registered trap, I usually mention it to them, so they don't upset the older shooters. Mark

3. charleyj10

charleyj10 TS Member

Yes, and I try very hard to turn to my right side as I leave post 5.

Charlie

4. straightshooter1

straightshooter1 Well-Known Member TS Supporters

Not pointing a firearm at another person is important, for sure.

But, I think, most shooters turn to the right to avoid their gun striking the gun coming towards them from Post 4.

Pat Ireland turned to the left, but took a big step back from Post 5 before he did that. I have seen others do the same thing.