1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Estate reload w/ Red Dot

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Setterman, Jul 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Setterman

Setterman Well-Known Member

There have been quite a few threads about Estate hull reloads, but I've not seen any with Red Dot or Clays powder. I would also like to use a Windjammer Wad. Any data available on a 1145 - 1200fps load w/ these components?

2. halfmile

halfmile Well-Known Member

Use Federal data, for top gun, game load, or Gold Medal. I would not use a windjammer wad as the diameter of the hull is larger than the AA or STS.

I would use a Federal or Claybuster 12SO or a CB Red 8.

HM

3. Bob Farne

Bob Farne Member

I have been loading the Estate hulls for about two years now. Only reload them twice because of my fears of the paper base wad. I used the Federal 12S3 wad until I ran out of them and now use the Winchester ORANGE WT12 wad. They are quite a bit cheaper than the other Winchester wads. Their over powder cup diameter is the same as the Federal 12S3 made for straight wall hulls as mentioned above. I use 17.5 grains of Promo, for light loads and 18.5 of Promo for medium speed loads. They work very well for me and just a cautionary word: always weigh your powder charges.

Good loading to you. Bob

4. Setterman

Setterman Well-Known Member

Thanks Bob. I've used the Windjammer quite a bit in the Gold Metal hull and liked it. I thought it should work in the Estates too. I'll mic the base wads and see if their close to the 12S3 and WT-12.

5. Quack Shot

Quack Shot Active Member

Setterman