1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

ENTERING ANOTHER ERA????

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by senior smoke, Mar 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. senior smoke

senior smoke Well-Known Member

HELLO:
    i started shooting in 1970, i remember the shoots being well attended. at that time old timers informed me that back when they started shooting, the shoots were not well attended. they said trapshooting participation increased with the advent of reloading. they saaid trapshooting was never meant for the average wage earner. they said in europe, usually royalty just participated, and in our country usually just professional type people. they said when reloading took hold, the average man, could afford to shoot in competition. in wisconsin, i saw shoots start to dwindel when we no longer enforced a 50 milw radius rule. we had some clubs have ata shoots almost every weekend, this causing attendance to be smaller too. regardless, fast forward to the present time, i was talking to another old timer yesterday, he said he has seen our sport go full circle. he said our sport will survive, but attendence will be going back to where it was years and years ago. what do you think, are we headed back to our roots in the shooting sports where participation will be like it is in europe?
    steve balistreri

2. BDodd

BDodd TS Member