1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Engraving question

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Ahab, Aug 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ahab

Ahab Well-Known Member

A friend who has taken up engraving asked if I had a gun that she could try her hand on.

I sent her the receiver of a Mod12Y that had gotten wet and slightly rusted.

This is what she sent back to me (her 1st gun engraving job ) ... and would like to know what a job like this is worth.

I would like some honest opinions for her.

Thanx in advance

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Bushmaster1313

Bushmaster1313 Well-Known Member

Very nice:

I am not an expert, but I believe your friend may need an FFL to take guns in overnight.

Be careful out there

3. Ahab

Ahab Well-Known Member

Yeah ... but will get better pics later.

4. flabigpapa

flabigpapa Well-Known Member

It's alot like that First Hotdog your Grand Father Bought you at your First Ball Game...not worth a whole lot...But Priceless to Him. It being her First..she should keep it..Priceless. Shoot Well..Shoot Often, Bart

5. fishguts

fishguts Member

A M12 takes engraving so nicely because of the flat sides and really looks good when engraved.

On the left side the scrolls and leaf work look really good because they are small and in clusters. The engraving on the right side is larger and seems out of place, especially under the port. If the scrolls and leaves were smaller and there were more of them, in my opinion, it would look as good as the left side. I don't like the border on the right side, too squared off. A broken border or a small curves would look better.