1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Effort and Reward

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by Chichay, Jan 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chichay

Chichay TS Supporters TS Supporters

Is it fair to say that if you were a mediocre student while in school you should expect a mediocre job when you graduate along with mediocre pay? I am especially interested in hearing from people who were honor students while in school and who could not get a decent job after graduation.

2. JBrooks

JBrooks TS Member

I have been hiring people for 32 years for compensation ranging from $12.00 per hour to 6 figures, so I can give you a bit of prospective. It really depends on what you study. If you are in a learned skill field like engineering or accounting, graduating with honors is definitely going to show in you job selection and pay. If you are a sociology major, not so much.

The important thing in being successful is being productive. Really smart people can be productive with less work effort than less smart people. However, a less smart person who works hard can be just as productive as a smart person.

One of the worst employees I ever hired graduated from Princeton and Princeton Law School with honors but he didn't have a lick of common sense.

In short, you don't have to do well in school to get a good job and be successful but you better be really smart and coasting.

3. phirel

phirel TS Member

I am always impressed with students of average intelligence who work very hard and graduate as honor students. Intelligence and work ethics are not directly related, and a strong work ethic is probably the most important one of these two things.