1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

e3 to Promo

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by warren, Nov 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. warren

warren Member

I have trouble purchasing e3 I don't know why but not very many suppliers have it in stock and then not much of it, so I'm considering switching to Promo and would like to hear any experiences or advice. Promo is cheaper and I wonder about it's performance.

warren

2. Bucko43

Bucko43 Well-Known Member

I shoot nothing but Promo. I shoot it in a load that gives me 1200 FPS and in a one ounce load it has very low recoil. That is the reason I started shooting it, because the recoil was comparable to Rex 1, which I can't find any more. And I use less of the Promo to get the same FPS.

Kevin

3. tanda1

tanda1 Active Member

Cheap, but dirty like Red Dot. If you shoot an auto or heavy 1 1/8's you may not like it. However, I just popped the cap on jug number 9 and have no complaints so far. Loading in Fed GM's and STS @1150 to 1200 fps

4. shoobedoo

shoobedoo Member

I don't think you can go wrong with Promo, if there was ever one powder that offers both excellent all around performance and cost effectiveness with 1 1/8 Oz. target loads, Promo has got to be right at the top of the list. I'm sure Solo 1000 is a fine powder, but using the same components you'll burn roughly 2 more grains of it per load to achieve the same velocities as Promo, and you'll pay on average about $20 to $25 more per 8 lb jug for the privilege.

5. Chichay

Chichay TS Supporters TS Supporters