1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Doubles & Yardage ?

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by likes-to-shoot, Jul 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. likes-to-shoot

likes-to-shoot Well-Known Member

I just started shooting doubles this year and I was wondering a couple of things.

In a lot of shoots doubles prizes are less than 16's and handicap. Why is that?

There are some good doubles shooters out there. Why isn't there yardage for doubles?

Thanks for any info in advance.

Bill

2. lumper

lumper TS Member

It would be to difficult and everyone would complain ... thusly they make it easy to avoid the complaints just like they have done to American Trap ... well that is just my assumption but I will probably be told and proven to be wrong on that.

3. Dickgshot

Dickgshot Well-Known Member

As I recall they tried handicap doubles at one time, but it never caught on.

4. Trap2

Trap2 Well-Known Member

Bill.....Trophy cost is one of the main reasons for having a lesser trophy for doubles at some shoots. There are fewer shooters paying to shoot doubles, making it harder for a club to justify paying for the same quality trophy that they offer in singles, where more shooters are entered. The more shooters you have in an event, the more money there is generated towards the purchase of the trophies. It's simply a matter of economics......Dan Thome (Trap2)

5. BDodd

BDodd TS Member

Supplementing Dan's perfect answer, the reason there is no yardage is because, like singles, doubles is a game where you shoot within your class (against others of similiar skills) based on your average rather than against the whole field of shooters handicapped by yardage....Bob Dodd

6. Setterman

Setterman Well-Known Member