1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

???Doubles Question????

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by griffonexpress, Aug 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. griffonexpress

    griffonexpress TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    49
    While shooting a doubles event, my o/u doubled on me. The gun went off in two shots like an automatic.(bang,bang). My question is: is the second bird a loss bird, or is this a malfuction and I get to shoot the pair over. It was scored as a loss.


    Griffonexpress
     
  2. BFJ201

    BFJ201 TS Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    147
    VII. D. 3.

    3. Machine-gunning or doubling only occurs when in Doubles Events
    both shotshells fire simultaneously in a break open gun, or two (2)
    shots are fired with a single operation of the trigger in an autoloading
    gun, rendering the competitor incapable of firing at the second target
    because both shotshells have fired. When a defective gun malfunctions
    and doubles or machine guns, whether or not the first target would
    have been scored “DEAD” or “LOST” and whether or not either target
    is legal or illegal, the referee/scorer shall rule this occurrence a Failure
    to Fire and score it accordingly.

    With this rule I would have scored it a failure to fire and you would have shot the pair over.

    BFJ
     
  3. BDodd

    BDodd TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    3,594
    Yeah, but don't you love how that first bird tends to disappear?.....Bob Dodd
     
  4. Beancounter

    Beancounter TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    482
    Indeed Bob, indeed
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.