Trapshooters Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Doubles advice

3K views 14 replies 13 participants last post by  Browning Man 
#1 ·
Well I just started shooting doubles and I find my scorces very inconsistent, do you guys have any pointers. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

#4 ·
Straightaways first.
Watch the background for something to locate where to look for the first bird when the previous shooters are shooting.
shoot the first bird quickly, but in a controlled manner,
let your eyes go to the second bird, the gun follows.

#6 ·
Learn how to trap the first bird, this allows you to have your guns POI set for the second bird. This game plan allows you to use a light load and open choke for the first shot and a full load and tighter choke for the second shot. It helps to be using an O/U. HMB

#11 ·
My advice is if you are shooting at any place but at the KCTA, the first thing you want to do is tell the Line Judge to raise the targets 4 to 6 notches - or go do it yourself if at home. If that second target is falling when you try to shoot it, you will NOT have very good scores - it just will NOT happen. Very few target setters shoot doubles, and they just do not understand that you have to keep the second target up in the air unless you want to make it a hard game that only Leo III can do. The reason I exclude the KCTA from my comments is that Lynn is one of the very few that understand how to set up a doubles trap, and he does an excellent job of it - and as a result he has some really good doubles shooters there. You just cannot set up doubles targets the same way your set up singles targets. the beav

#12 ·
HMB, divine guidance is not frequent on the trap field. Nor are things "automatically happening." I have to scratch and claw for every target. Nothing comes easily. I have found:

1. Trapping the first target is great, until the wind starts.

2. Using the same gun for singles has resulted in higher doubles scores.