1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Do you need to break in a new barrel on ar15

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by striper, Apr 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. striper

    striper Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    264
    Well after reading lots of articles and getting more confused, I decided to purchase the new S&W M&P performance center 5.56 1-8 twist camo stock. I had a chance to shoulder one at a local store,liked the fit and feel, found a better price on line so I will take delivery next week. Scope is Trijicon 2.5 -10 accu point. Have to get rings and mount when gun arrives. Bore site and then what. I have questions what steps do you take to break in the ar 15?. I have shot many bolt action rifles but this is totally new to me. What bullet weight would you start with? I know it will take some time to figure out what ammo does best in this gun. I have a burris tripod but not with me will have it sent next week to help in shooting for groups and fine tuning. Suggestions please TY
     
  2. Rich219

    Rich219 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,125
    I've never broke in any of the barrels on my AR15s and they shoot just fine. Just shoot it.
    I would try out some 65 or 66 gr bullets for a 1/8 twist.
     
  3. GrubbyJack

    GrubbyJack Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    527
    He is one of the main people that make and sell rifles & barrels for Camp Perry High Power shooters..Grubby

    http://www.compasslake.com/instructions.htm
     
  4. Rich219

    Rich219 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,125
    The difference is that if he bought a M&P he's probably not using it as a precision rifle. For a defense/battle weapon you don't need to break in a barrel like you would a precision rifle.
     
  5. striper

    striper Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    264
    Thanks for the posts. The info from Grubbyjack was very helpful. This is a performance grade S&W and plan to use for varmint and pds. For now paper will have to do. TY guys for the help
     
  6. Rich219

    Rich219 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,125
    If you are using it for varmints then I would break it in like mentioned above. What length barrel do you have on it?
     
  7. HSLDS

    HSLDS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    6,393
    Location:
    S-E PA
    remember, most AR barrels are chromed so the 'normal' break in process is perhaps not necessary...

    I would certainly go through careful and extreme cleaning initially, but I suspect I would NOT do the fire one round - clean barrel - fire two rounds - clean barrels, etc. that one might use on an un-chromed barrel.
     
  8. Remstar311

    Remstar311 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    942
    If you didn't already buy the Trijicon check out Horus Hawk scopes. Front focal plane scopes and a great value for the money.
     
  9. brent375hh

    brent375hh TS Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    292
    White Oak is the other highly thought of AR builder with another version
    of barrel break in. I use John's version. It has worked well for me.


    http://www.whiteoakprecision.com/info-faq.htm#breakin
     
  10. Sky Buster

    Sky Buster Sky Buster TS Supporters

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    2,979
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I have the same rifle. It does not have a chrome bore. I bought
    for IPSC matches and dogs. I did not give it any special brake-in
    procedures.Shoots 3/4 inch with my 60 grain reloads.
     
  11. Brian in Oregon

    Brian in Oregon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    25,254
    Location:
    Deplorable Bitter Clinger in Liberal La La Land
    Bffffttttt, just clean the packing grease out of it and shoot it. It's just that simple.

    And as noted, if it has a chrome lined bore, you'll never break it in anyway. The chrome is too tough.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Search tags for this page
do you have to break in a new ar 15
,
does s&w have ar15 break in procedure
,

how to break in a new ar 15

,
how to break in a new ar15