1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

DO YOU HAVE ENOUGH CHOKE IN THAT BARREL??????

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by senior smoke, Oct 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. senior smoke

senior smoke Well-Known Member

HELLO:
    i started shooting in 1970, never owned a gun with choke tubes. what ever the barrel was choked, i shot it. most of my 870's were choked 42 thousand, had a model 12 at 45 thousand. both gun hit targets very hard. back them i spoke to an all american shooter, asked him what choke do you use for 16 yd, he said 28 thousands. i asked what about 27 yd handicap? he said as tight as choke as i can find. i have heard shooters say, on 16 yd they use anywhere from 10 to 20 thousands of choke? is this possible and still break great scores? my confidence builds when i can roll smoke balls. what choke do you use for 16 yd, handicap, and doubles?
    steve balistreri

2. Kolar Dan

Kolar Dan Member

Steve,
    I shoot a LF(30)for everything-16 to 27. I have used a LM (15) for 16, but the last few years I just leave the LF in all the time. When I miss a 16 yd target, a looser choke would not help and I don't think the tighter choke has ever cost me a target.
    Sonny Daniels

3. Kolar Dan

Kolar Dan Member

Steve,
    I shoot a LF(30)for everything-16 to 27. I have used a LM (15) for 16, but the last few years I just leave the LF in all the time. When I miss a 16 yd target, a looser choke would not help and I don't think the tighter choke has ever cost me a target.
    Sonny Daniels

4. Trap2

Trap2 Well-Known Member