1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Dirty Reloads ?

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by steevo, Apr 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. steevo

steevo TS Member

H Gary. I am no expert in reloading, since I only did it for a few years with the same load for trap, but I found the different powders to be dirtier than others. For instance, I used Red Dot years ago, and it was very dirty. I even cleaned unburned powder residue from the barrel sometimes. In later years, I switched to Clays I think it was. I found it to be cleaner, but still not as clean as factory loads. Now, I dont reload at all, but friends tell me they all use Clays brand, and find it to be cleaner than some other powders. Good luck.

Steve

2. Quack Shot

Quack Shot Active Member

Your load may not be developing enough pressure for the Green Dot powder to burn efficiently. Using a faster powder may alleviate some of unburned powder residue. Green Dot is a bit on the slow side for light 1oz loads. I use about 19.5 grains of Green Dot with the same components and don't have a powder residue problem. Anything less than about 18.5 to 19.0 grains seemed to be inconsistant and dirty. I have very little trouble with faster powders in light 1oz loads. Even Promo burns fairly clean if loaded to proper pressures. Clay Dot, Red Dot, Promo, Clays, Titewad, Titegroup, 700-X, WST, etc, might be something to consider for lighter 1oz loads. Green Dot, Unique, WSF, and some of the slightly slower powders work better with loads developing normal pressures. Your load should be developing somewhere around 8000PSI at 1150fps, if the Alliant data is accurate. Using a "Clone" of the WAA12SL might drop the pressures even lower and cause more of a problem for you.

3. Mac V

Mac V Guest