1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Differences in shotgun shells for trap

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by david636, Jul 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. david636

david636 TS Member

I have been shooting trap with the Winchester Universal 100 Round Value Pack, that I purchase at Wal-Mart.

I’m not that good at trap yet, but I am curious as to the difference between these shells and say; Winchester AA Target Loads.

Is there ‘good’ reason to purchase the more expensive shells? I don’t do any reloading.

Thanks in advance.
    David

2. MJC1963

MJC1963 TS Member

Most gun clubs do a fair job of competing with Wal-Marts pricing, besides if you had to give the gun club a few extra bucks it will help support it. Gun Clubs are not very profitable organizations. If Wal-Mart chooses to not sell firearms then why support them?? Just about the cost to keep a gun club open, electricity, mowing, loading/unloading targets, maintenance, volunteers and etc.
    Ask around at your club someone knows where you can purchase shells at a reasonable price. But if you choose to use Walmarts value pack they will work just fine, if you become a registered shooter and are really concerned about your scores you might want to re-evaluate your shells for a more consistency in your loads. Good luck

3. 1oldtimer

1oldtimer TS Member

Shoot the cheaper shells. If you graduate to registered and get handicapped past the 22 yd. line,you will want to consider the premium loads. You don't need them for fun and shorter yardage. The Remington STS & nitro 27 will be great if you start reloading. Clyde Doll

4. phirel

phirel TS Member