1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Dialing in POI

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by fomocosho, May 7, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fomocosho

fomocosho TS Member

This is my first post so go easy on me. I have been shooting trap for a few years but would consider myself a newbie as I am just starting to get serious about shooting. I have shot some decent scores lately but cannot seem to get consistent centered hits on targets, I get a lot targets that break into 4 or less pieces. Im wondering what i should do to try to get better breaks? I appreciate any advice.

2. Pre-64

Pre-64 Banned User Banned

Pattern your gun at 13 yards 1) know where it's hitting - make adjustments where needed 2) just knowing where the guns Point of Impact in will build confidence and help you to understand any misses....

3. Dr.Longshot

Dr.Longshot Banned Banned

Forget the 13 yards it will not tell you patterns, this must be done at 38-40 yards.

If your gun has choke tubes pattern a few of each tube, then decide which one has the best pattern.

Try several different Mfgrs shells too.

Then pick the best patterning shells by Mfgr.

Gary Bryant
    Dr.longshot

4. Setterman

Setterman Well-Known Member

Practice. A lot.

5. Neil Winston

Neil Winston Well-Known Member

Since you are not asking about patterns, focomosho, I'll tell you my advice for answering the question you are asking, how to tell why you are only getting breaks into four pieces or fewer.

We will assume your choke is OK, which it is as long as it's modified at least and your shells too, since they are not less than one ounce.

If any of our assumptions aren't true, fix that now.

Then read the link above and do as much of it as you can.