1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.

DeVault gun stocks vs. Weinig

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by hammer-time, Apr 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hammer-time

hammer-time TS Member

I had to move most of my target shotguns because of the economy during the winter so I need some help. I do have a 391 with a shortened stock (wifes) here still but its so short I can't shoot it. I'm considering purchasing a stock and I have a few beautiful gun stock blanks I just couldn't stand to get rid of. Will Dennis DeVault make/sell the do-it-yourself inletted rough stocks like Wenig does? Also, approximately how much do these companies charge to rough a stock in if the customer supplies the wood?

Oh, and PS, I'm a carpenter by trade and used to build funiture as a hobby so finishing a project like this would be simple for me.

Thanks in advnce.
  2. mixer

mixer Active Member

A 1997 Wenig catalog I have says "for pump/auto shotgun DIY stocks, using customers wood to machine inlet, $100-$125". That doesn't make sense as you can buy a machine inletted stock in Plain Walnut for $55. I'm sure the prices have gone up in 12 years. Best you contact Wenig for up to date info.

Eric
  3. JerryP

JerryP TS Member

4. hammer-time

hammer-time TS Member

Mixer, that does make sense to me. He probably is able to run several stocks using his wood previously dimensioned with very little setup time. He would probably have additional set up time involved in using a customers wood. Also you have the issue of grain flow with special wood and it takes some time just to sit down and study the correct way to use it.

Thanks a bunch guys!
  5. amboy49

amboy49 Member