1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Crossfire miracle

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by jdsfarms, Aug 24, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jdsfarms

jdsfarms Well-Known Member

I have always had a severe crossfiring problem I shoot right handed and have good vision in my right eye and a fairly bad stigmatism in my left eye and use rx lenses in my shooting glasses,I shot with the left eye closed for several years but always had trouble with left hand target I think because I would open the offending eye when I lost sight of the target.After a fairly long struggle I learned to shoot with both eyes open but with a dot on the offending eye,worked much better especially on left hand targets.I am a mechanic and am pretty hard on lenses from wiping them off with dirty hands and rags and scratching them so the eye doc suggested I just wear a contact lens in my left eye to correct the stigmatism and nothing in the right eye since it really doesn't require much correction,seemed to work good for everyday stuff but I took it out to shoot since my shooting glasses were rx but after loading a few shells the other day I went out to try a handful and had it in so I just shot em without any glasses hence the miracle seven consecutive ink balls with no dot on the offending eye.I knew it had to be a fluke so I went and got a box of shells and put on a pair of yellow safety glasses,24 ink balls and one target that I just didn't get up to.Baffled I went in and took out the contact lens and grabbed a box of shells and my rx glasses and took the dot off to try it,a 14 out of 25 was the result,put the dot back on the glasses 23,put the contact lens back in 23,back to the glasses with no dot 15,I'm still baffles as to why but guess I'll stick with the contact lens