1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

crimp problem with grabber

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by Mr MardiGras, Apr 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mr MardiGras

Mr MardiGras Member

I have been reloading now for 3 years and have never had a problem, but out of nowhere my machine is over crimping the shell in the center of the shell leaving a small hole in the crimp. In a some shells it is large enough that shot falls out. I am not sure why but I have not changed anything on the reloader...Thanks in advance for any feedback....Jim

2. Hill topper

Hill topper Member

Have you changed the hulls you are loading, or the wad/ powder combination?

Something has changed. New AAs versue old AAs? Wad pressure ram moved?

ed.

3. Pull Bang

Pull Bang Member

Jim

I have been using a grabber since 1987. I load about 20,000 rounds a year. The problem you describe I never experienced.

Are you using a powder manufactures manual and following reliable recipes?

Is the crimp starter (item #77) set down far enough to pull the crimps in really close?

Try moving the (item #68) Crimp Punch up or down. Loosen the locking nut and use a screw driver to move the punch up or down. You need to use the trial and error method to find the optimal setting.

Also, move the (item #46) the Cam up and down to find the optimal setting. Loosen the 5/32 Allen screw to move this cam. The Punch & Cam settings establish the optimal crimp.

Good luck.

Frank

4. BDodd

BDodd TS Member