1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Component question

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by mike T, Dec 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mike T

mike T Member

o.k. I have been reloading off and on since the 1980's. So I am not new to the game.
    Here is my question. I have recently been playing around with 1oz loads for the 16's and 1st doubles shot. Seems to be just fine.
    I use STS hulls.

Question if I keep my loads of Clays or Red Dot in the 17 to 17.5g range what really difference does it make with what ever wad I use?? I know this load is well below any pressure levels. Do some wads pattern better? Do some open the pattern more? Does it really make any difference?
    With out counting holes, I really have not seen much difference in how they break clays.

anyone have any thoughts?

thanks
    mike t

by the way us folk in southeast Iowa have lots of ice on everything

2. ec90t

ec90t Guest

Mike T,

You are apparently one of the lucky ones that still has power!

As far as wads go, I can't see where pressure would be a problem with any of the wads listed for both red dot and clays, especially with 1oz loads.

ec90t

3. BDodd

BDodd TS Member

The major concern I'd suggest about using "any" wad is to be sure to use the appropriate type wad; with tapered hulls use wads designed for tapered hulls - with straight wall hulls use wads designed for straight wall hulls. Other than that, I've experimented enough including the chrono to see very little difference in results with different wads.....Bob Dodd

4. Trap2

Trap2 Well-Known Member