1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Color of Lenses

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by deadeyedukewannabe, Jul 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. deadeyedukewannabe

deadeyedukewannabe TS Member

Hi all. I've been trapshooting for several years now in a drought area where the grass is usually brown. This year we have had extreme amounts of rain. I only own one pair of shooting lenses which are a pink color. I was wondering what colors of lenses have been known to work for blue skies and green grass background or clouded skies and green grass background.

Thanks for your input!

2. Unknown1

Unknown1 Well-Known Member

I use Decot's V-lite for the conditions you're asking about but it's important to understand that no two people see colors in exactly the same way and what works well for me may not work at all for you. Anyone who tells you that this or that is the color you should use simply doesn't understand this.

I hear many people raving about "Light Target Orange" as being the end-all of colors for open sky or what-have-you but I can honestly say that they make orange targets much harder for me to see than my own choice of V-Lite.

I suggest you contact a lens maker (I use Morgan Optical in Olean, NY) and ask for some flat color samples that you can try over clear or no lenses to see what works for you. It's risky to buy lenses on a recommendation until you try them under your conditions.

MK

3. miketmx

miketmx Well-Known Member