1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Cold Weather Shooting

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by mad frank, Mar 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mad frank

mad frank TS Member

Hi everybody. I have been shooting trap for about 7 years now and have this problem that palgues me every time I shoot in cold winter weather. My highest average in 16 yard targets has been .98 which was shot during the summer months. It seems that when I practice in the winter, my scores decline by about 9 targets in 100. I have heard people say that extra clothing changes your LOP etc; however, I think of this as trivial and feel that it souldn't make that much difference. I have tried going over and over all the basics, paying attention to all minute details, but still cannot break similar scores as I do in warmer weather. Do any of you experience the same problem shooting in cold weather, or is it just me?

Frank M

2. BILL GRILL

BILL GRILL Well-Known Member

I do not think anyone shoots as good in winter. You have to get past it and just shoot for the enjoyment when there is snow on the ground. Also I switch to 7 1/2 in winter seems to help. Bill

3. bigben

bigben Active Member