1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Clinics?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Dr.Longshot, Mar 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dr.Longshot

Dr.Longshot Banned Banned

When I started shooting ATA in 1968 there were no clinics that I know of, I learned my style by watching the best of the best at that time and I took pointers from each and every one of them and implemented them in my style of shooting, from the best at that time, I watched Britt Robinson intensely
    at the Ohio State and Grand American, along with Larry Grave Stock, Dan Orhlic,
    Bueford Bailey at Camp Troy, and at the Grand, Kay Ohye, Gene Sears, John Sternberger, just to name a few, it has paid off.

The most important thing I learned was gun fit, my LOP is 14"inches-14 1/4"inches, and Zero Pitch. I rifle sight my gun sights, Middle Bead Buried in the Front Bead, Flat Down The Rib and 120%+ high.

And I kept shooting a gun with higher and higher POI until got to where I shoot today, I learned early to not let the bird peak before you shoot.

You must be able to shoot a target on the rise, and the hold points on the trao house, and the elevation of the hold point, that provides consistency.

See the target before moving the gun. Concentration, Concentration.

ATA style of shooting carried over to the Games and Calcuttas.

Learned this #8s from the 16s and 7.5s for handicaps. 2 3/4 dram 8s for 16s and 3 dram 1200 fps 7.5s for all handicaps.

And specially loaded shells for the games, #6s for shoot offs, really fast #6s for the long shoot offs.

I shoot full choke for everything.

If you have any questions PM me.

Gary Bryant
    Dr.longshot

2. illtrap1

illtrap1 Member