1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Clay Dot/Winter shooting

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by glenns, May 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. glenns

glenns Member

I've been using Alliant Clay Dot for the last 4 years. I don't usually shoot a lot during the winter but shot some during this past Jan - March. I noticed a decrease of velocity in my Clay Dot loaded shells.

Someone told me yesterday that I should not use Clay Dot during the winter becasue it loses velocity. Is this true? If so are there other powders that should not be used during very cold conditions (less than 30 degrees)?

2. C-Money

C-Money Member

It might just be true. I have never noticed it. I shoot a winter league in Eastern Washington. It gets bitter cold during this league, never had an issue breaking targets because of my Clay Dot loaded ammo. Clay Dot works great for me year round.

3. Unknown1

Unknown1 Well-Known Member

It's not the powder... it's the increase in air density that's slowing the pellets down!

Keller

4. tallpaul

tallpaul Member