1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Citori XT or other Browning trap O/U

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by BPSR, Jul 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BPSR

BPSR Member

I'm fairly new to this game, I am wondering do all the XTs have their barrels ported? Not trying to offend anyone with ported barrels, but I just never have cared for barrels with extra holes in them. I'm kind of looking for an O/U for trap shooting, and like the way the Citori feels, but don't want a ported gun.

2. SR1

SR1 TS Member

Look for a older one they didnt come ported and yes all the new ones have it on the brownings.

3. Recoil Sissy

Recoil Sissy Well-Known Member

BPSR:

As SR1 suggested, a pre-XT Citori may be your best bet. However, before you buy, be aware Browning made four versions* of the Citori. From oldest to most recent they are the a pre-Type 1, followed by Types 1, 2, and 3.

The distinction is important. Parts aren't necessarily interchangable and the availability of parts for some of the earlier versions are out of production and a challenge to find. The type can be determined by year of manufacture which in turn can be determined with a serial number.

Even within types, there may be some physical differences. For example, Type 3 Citoris made before 1994 may have a long trigger tang. All Type 3 made after 1994 have a short tang. The practical difference is that stocks are specific to tang length and are not interchangable between long and short tang guns.

Good luck with your search.

sissy

* Type 3 guns include XT and Ultra XT models which have some cosmetic upgrades. Mechanically, they're still Type 3s.

4. maclellan1911

maclellan1911 TS Member

There are some very early model UltraXT with out port

5. all star

all star TS Member