1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

chokes for a k80

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by mrs frosty, Mar 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mrs frosty

    mrs frosty TS Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    We did purchase a set of chokes for our k80 but we can not find any one who can put them in the barrel for us. can any body give us a hint as to where we could go to have this work done. FYI briley does not do factory chokes
    my name is Gennie Cushing and we live in New Hamp
     
  2. jsa3107

    jsa3107 TS Supporters TS Supporters

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    364
    Location:
    Maine
    There is a gun smith in Rye Nh are you close to that area in NH?
    If so I am not sure he would want his TEL number on here but If you email me I would be glad to give it to you

    He works on my K-80S
    jsa3107@aol.com
     
  3. B.C.

    B.C. Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    843
    not going to happen with factory tubes, you need after market tubes ! go with briley and never look back. Ki recommends these for after market installations.
    hope this helps ! B.C.
     
  4. jsa3107

    jsa3107 TS Supporters TS Supporters

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    364
    Location:
    Maine
    Ok I am sorry I thought you bought a set for a gun already set up with chokes
    I believe that CB is correct
    I have a gun that was done by Briley and they did great work on the chokes for that k-80
    They also did the porting and did a great job but I would never port a gun again..
     
  5. SeldomShoots

    SeldomShoots Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,800
    Location:
    Indiana
    Gennie,

    Your fixed choke barrels probably do not have enough wall thickness for factory tubes. Like the other gentlemen said you will need Briley Thinwall tubes. You can probably sell the choke set you have on this website or keep them if you ever trade for factory choke tube barrels.

    Briley website with contact information: http://www.briley.com/contactus.aspx

    Good luck, John E.
     
  6. g7777777

    g7777777 TS Supporters TS Supporters

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    9,353
    there is no probably- you cant get factory threaded tubes retrofitted in a fixed choke barrel

    you want to resell those factory chokes

    regards from Iowa

    Gene
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.