1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Choke Tubes for a 30" Remington 3200

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by GordonWood421, May 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GordonWood421

GordonWood421 TS Member

What is the advisability of installing choke tubes in a 30" Rem 3200 which currently has fixed chokes at IM/M ? Are the barrels typically thin as in Winchester Super X -1s or can a "stronger" system be used ? Other than Briley and Seminole , who would be recommended to do such a project . I am ,personally , in uncharted waters as I have no experience with 3200 - - I do understand that a wise shooter might not act so impulsively but there just "ain't no such animules in these parts ".

Would this be a considered risky project ( not the purchase) . Would the value of the gun be enhanced or are 3200s of more desirable if left as built with fixed chokes . This will be used for SCs and SKRAP more than "straight" trap and with predominately 7/8 oz loads , hence the need for tighter chokes .

Any considered recommendations/suggestions will be appreciated .

Charlie

2. joe kuhn

joe kuhn Furry Lives Matter TS Supporters

Choke Tubes for a 30

Stu Wright advised against it because the bbls are so thin. I noticed the bottom bbl on my 3200 is thicker than the top one, but I don't recall if I mentioned that to Stu. Did see a picture on here of a top bbl on a 3200 with the choke blown out the side. Clinched it for me.

3. GunDr

GunDr Well-Known Member

Choke Tubes for a 30

The problem with the 3200 bbls are they are not very concentric, especially the further you move back from the muzzle. The OD may be sufficient , but the bore can be shifted .010-015".

4. BDodd

BDodd TS Member

Choke Tubes for a 30