1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

CHOKE TUBES, BEST & WORST?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by senior smoke, Dec 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. senior smoke

senior smoke Well-Known Member

HELLO:
    I have been shooting for the past 40 years and I have never owned a choke tube barrel. when choke tubes first came out, the tubes were very short and after alot of patterning barrels for friends, i never saw a tubed barrel pattern from 27 yards as good as a fixed full choke barrel. with that being said, over the years choke tubes have gotten longer, as a result of this lengthing of the tube, the patterns in my opinion are now as good as a fixed choke barrel. i gave my disabled nephew a remington 870 tb with a fixed 30 inch fc. i have shorter barrels that i could give him but i am possibly thinking of having choke tubes put in a barrel. friends of mine have all said stay away from the remington choke tube, some feel they are the worst choke tube on the market. i want the longest choke tube being offered, also what choke tube do you consider to be the best, meaning hardest hitting and placing most of the shot in a 30inch circle. who does good choke tube work?
    steve balistreri

2. bigmike

bigmike TS Member

I have had good experience with Briley in Texas over the years. Their chokes have done a good job for me. Shoot well,Bigmike

3. OLD ONE EYE

OLD ONE EYE Well-Known Member

I would use Wrights have your barrel miked and tell Stew your bore size and what you want in pattern he will know just what you need or send him the barrel and have him shoot it for pattern with the shells us use. That will get you just what you want then you are out of excuses.
    Shoot well,
    Buddy

4. OldGoat

OldGoat Well-Known Member