1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Choke tube advice

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by jlesley, Jan 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jlesley

jlesley TS Member

Little background first - I've been shooting for 6 months and shoot a Krieghoff KS5 with a number 3 choke tube (which is Improved Modified, I believe)and origianlly was set to shoot 80/20. My scores are stagnant and to say the least I'm getting a little frustrated and losing confidence in myself and my gun. I have a few things I know I'm doing wrong and am currently working on them (eye issues, keeping the gun moving, getting to the leading edge of the target, etc.) At the advice of Phil Kiner I lowered my POI and today I shot the same but made some harder angle shots that I have been struggling with... now I know what it looks like and feels like to get to the leading edge of target. My question is - is there any benefit to trying a more open choke (#2?) to possibly gain more breaks in the hope of gaining some confidence? Thanks... Jill

2. Neil Winston

Neil Winston Well-Known Member

It wouldn't make any difference, Jill, sorry.

Neil

3. zzt

zzt Well-Known Member

Jill, you don't say what load you shoot, or how quickly you shoot. Without that info, we can't give you a good opinion. That being said, I'd suggest you try it and see for yourself. That's the best way to find out. It very well may help for a little while.