1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Cheddite Primers Punched Through

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by gary0920, Dec 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gary0920

gary0920 Member

<a href="http://s999.photobucket.com/albums/af112/Tyden0416/?action=view&current=DSC02861.jpg" target="_blank">[​IMG]</a>

These were all fired from top barrell of Perazzi DB-81. I have been loading Wincheter and Fiocchi primers for the last 3 years and never had even 1 punch through. I have 10 to 15 of these Cheddites punch through out of each box. I tried a new firing pin and got the same result. Shot several boxes of the Winchester and Fiocchi after this one and no problems.

<a href="http://s999.photobucket.com/albums/af112/Tyden0416/?action=view&current=DSC02863.jpg" target="_blank">[​IMG]</a>

You can feel the difference in recoil when these primers punch through. Anyone else experience this?

2. Pull & Mark

Pull & Mark Well-Known Member

Gary, Yes the Cheddites are notorious for getting pierced. They have burned off the ends of fireing pins on many Krieghoff's at my home club. They also get many others as well. Hope you didn't buy to many of them. They work OK is some guns and like yours in others. Seems to be no ryme or reason for it. Good Luck and Break-em all. Jeff

3. short shucker

short shucker TS Member

Gary,

I had a few do this a while back. I was a little puzzled to say the least. I reset my primer seat depth on my press and the problem went away. It seem as if the primer was just a tic high and not seated deeply enough. I've reloaded about 4000 more since then with zero issues.

ss

4. Cobra Khan

Cobra Khan Member