1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Chart for powder weight versus bushing size?

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by Tdog, May 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tdog

Tdog TS Member

Can someone put me onto a website or have a current chart that lists the correct size powder bushing (P&W/Hornady/Pacific) for a given brand and weight of powder charge? Thanks for your help.

Rem31TC

2. oletymer

oletymer Member

Hogdon has one on their site. It is for their powders. You did not mention what powders you are using.

3. Ed Y

Ed Y TS Supporters TS Supporters

Don't count on any chart for the correct powder drop. ALWAYS USE A SCALE TO CHECK YOUR DROPS.

Ed Yanchok

4. rjdden

rjdden TS Member

Aproximately 6 monthes after I started shooting (Back in 1970) I was loading from a Mec Jr. I wasn't told about a scale but I didn't read the instructions that well either. I got to noticing hot loads and then maybe a cold load, one that didn't seem to have the pop that it should have and the hot ones sounded like they were loaded with all the powder. I got to investigating and at this time invested into a powder scale. I found that most of my loads were on the quite light side. Then I would get a load that was heaver than it should have been. I started loading my powdere into the scale and started getting more consistant loads. Then I noticed my loads were dropping shotrer and shorter each time I set down to load. I was having to use my dribbler or trickler more and more to make the load I desired. Got to looking at the powder area on the loader and took it appart and found a little tiny spider had decided to make his home up on the meeting area of the powder jug and the loader. Cleaned this little bugger out and found it didn't take as much of the dribbler