1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

changing from one eye to two

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by hehawboy, Dec 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hehawboy

hehawboy Member

Since i started shooting 2 yrs ago i have been shooting with one eye just started with 2 eyes and have found that i pick up the clay alot faster but would love some pointers from you 2 eye shooters on pro's and cons of being a 2 eye shooter Thanks

2. wireguy

wireguy TS Member

Unless you have an eye problem with one of your eyes there are no cons. Make a list of all the things you do better with one eye closed than with both eyes open. It will be a very short list.

3. Dickgshot

Dickgshot Well-Known Member

Most people have one eye that is dominant, just as you have one hand that is
    dominant. However, just as there are people who are ambitdexterous, there are
    people who do not have a dominant eye. Or you may have a left eye that is dominant but you are right handed. These are both problems. To check your eye dominance, quickly point at a small object 10-15 feet away with your dominant hand, which for most people is the right one, with both eyes open. Do that by looking at the object you're pointing at, not your finger. Hold your finger on that object and close the eye on the same side as the hand you pointed with. If your finger move off that object, you're fine. If it doesn't, close the other eye. If it moves now, you're cross dominant and you will have a problem shooting with both eyes open. If it moves a little when you close either eye, you have very weak or no eye dominance. That's a problem, too.