1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Chainsaw Problems Stihl MS362

Discussion in 'Off Topic Threads' started by InsureGuy, Jun 26, 2013.

1. InsureGuy

InsureGuy Member

I am relatively new to chainsaw ownership. This evening I cut down a hard maple at church and I had a brand-new chain in a brand-new blade on the chainsaw. At first it cut like a dream but as I went on the chainsaw seem to have gotten dull though all sudden. I noticed that the chain in the bar or smoking. After I left the chainsaw cool down I started cutting again and it started cutting okay, But after a short while it did not seem to want to cut again the chain looked exceptionally loose. After sitting for five minutes and cooling down the chain had tightened up again. The chain now has a blue cast to it so I know I got it too hot. I checked the oil her and make sure it was spitting oil out but apparently it was not going fast enough. Have I ruined another bar and chain question ???

Jason

2. skeetfield

skeetfield Member

I would guess your chain is too tight and/or your oiler is not working.

3. logndog

logndog TS Member

You might have hit something in the tree or somehow dulled your chain. When a chain gets dull it causes friction which heats the chain thus stretching it. When it cools down it retracts. I am a logger plus I used to work for Stihl.

4. grntitan

grntitan Well-Known Member