1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Cell phone interfaces

Discussion in 'Off Topic Threads' started by joe kuhn, Feb 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. joe kuhn

joe kuhn Furry Lives Matter TS Supporters

I've always thought cell phone interfaces were poorly done. I'm considering programming my own, since I'm a programmer and you just never know where it might lead.

Here are my initial thoughts:

The default screen should be my phone book. It's a cell phone, so why wouldn't I want my phone book right there when I open it up or pull it out of my pocket? I use it to call people or send them text messages or answer both.

Just to show you how screwed up the interface is on my old Xcingular LG, it's phone book is called an 'Address Book' which it is not. There's no way to put an address in my phone's Address Book.

After I've selected the person I want to call or text, two special buttons should be assigned the task of either calling or opening a text message window. Done.

If I'm receiving a call/text message from someone in my phone book, the person's name should be selected and there should be some indicator of whether it's a text or a call. Then an 'Answer' button either answers the call or opens the text message.

Notice I'm ignoring the new data featues of phones for simplicity sake. All the other Settings screens, etc. should take second fiddle to the Phone Book.

Eh?

2. HSLDS

HSLDS Well-Known Member

Joe, some thoughts...

I like to see who is calling before I answer - so I like to open my phone then decide whether to answer or not. Took forever to find the buttons to hit to turn 'off' answer on open...