1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Can you ever go back? (release to pull)

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by backfenceata, Jul 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. backfenceata

backfenceata TS Member

Has any one switched back to pull after years with a release. If so , do you have any training tips? Kirk

2. Kent

Kent TS Member

Kirk as you know I am no expert on this subject. But, I do have a theory that might be similar. After a decade of twist off beer bottle caps, I have often found it a painfull experience to pick up a traditionally capped bottle and try and screw it off. I would say that you can never go back to the "good ole days."

Kent

3. backfenceata

backfenceata TS Member

Kent(fellow squad mate) so wise for so early in the am. Kirk

4. ljutic231

ljutic231 TS Member

It has been said that I am a little different, but I shoot Skeet and sporting clays with pull trigger and Trap and Trap doubles with release. It takes a little more thinking on the first couple of shots. but after that it just seems natural

5. AveragEd

AveragEd Well-Known Member

I would think that it could be done, depending upon the original cause of the flinch. If it was visual and measures were taken (lower hold point, different glasses, etc.) to improve the shooter's look at the target, the flinch would not occur. Even a recoil-induced flinch might clear after enough time spent with a softer-shooting gun.