1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Calling for bird and not shooting

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by glenns, Jul 3, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. glenns

glenns Member

Situation: watching the squad shooting before my squad I see a fair number of birds taking a hard right – ‘illegal’ targets (outside of the white stakes in the field). This squad had a number of veteran shooters so they did not shoot at the illegal targets.

I have been shooting for 3 years and have not experienced seeing so many illegal targets in a registered ATA shoot.

My squad starts shooting (I am squad leader) and on my 1st bird on post 2 I call for the target and get a right angled bird - a 'legal' bird. I don’t shoot (thinking it might be an illegal bird) and the scorer tells me it is a ‘lost’ bird. A member of my squad tells the scorer that I have 2 ‘failures to fire.’ I shoot and we continue on.

Being curious I looked at the ATA Official Rules, Section VII, Paragraph C.2. says that if you call for the bird and voluntarily not fire it is a lost bird. Paragraph D.2. says that you get “…2 failures to fire, for any reason, other than stated in Paragraph C. 2…”

I believe I should have had a ‘lost’ bird when I called for the bird and did not fire. Is that correct or did I miss another rule?

Should I have requested that management move us to another trap?

2. hmb

hmb Well-Known Member

I order to get a second chance (FTF) you have to tell the scorer that you failed to fire because you flinched. Flinches are considered involuntary and qualify you for a second chance. You get two per sub event. HMB

3. BigM-Perazzi

BigM-Perazzi Well-Known Member