1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Buying barrels

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by dhip, Dec 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dhip

dhip Active Member

OK,by now most know I'm New to this sport.I've seen barrels offered and was wondering as I sometimes do...
    I have a Browning Citori Sporting Clay Special Edition,,ahem,bought because it felt good not knowing that it wasn't a trap gun,,Don't ask.....So,my wondering is,,is it possible to buy just a barrel for trap shooting for this gun and swap out the 28" ported barrel,for let's say a 30" single barrel for trap.And how do I know an offered barrel will fit.

Doug H.

2. Shooting Coach

Shooting Coach Banned User Banned

Having one of these guns, I would offer that newer model barrels will absolutely NOT fit, and barrels of the same vintage MIGHT fit. A while back, I had access to five newer model Brownings. NONE of the barrels off them would fit my Special.

Stay with what you have, or buy a dedicated trap gun. I have very high cheekbones, due to Native-American heritage, and my Special shoots about 80% high, so it works for everything, including 27 yard trap. All three of my Brownings, Special Sporting, Ultra XT, and newly acquired FN Belgian-made Super X-2 Sporter have identical Points-of-impact. Makes it easy to shoot either of them.

3. mwmham

mwmham Member

contact MidWest Gun Works and see what they have to say

4. superxjeff

superxjeff Active Member

Friend..., All you need is a higher stock. I know a man who won a major state handicap championship with his 28 inch Citori. If you decide you want to buy a dedicated trap gun with a higher stock and a longer barrel/ barrels, then you sell the gun you have and quit throwing good money after bad.