1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Budgeting your year

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Tooler, Feb 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tooler

Tooler TS Member

I am recently retired and look forward to a new year of shooting. What do you long time ATA members look at for planning your new year of shooting? I am fairly new to the game 6 years. Last year I registered close to 11K in targets. This year I have more time but less disposable income. Your thoughts would be appreciated (sp). I went to my first GA in 11 and had a blast.

R Jones

2. chipking

chipking TS Member

Usually in January or February the shoot dates for the upcoming spring-summer-fall of the target year are posted by most states. I normally combine those on my calendar for all clubs within 100 miles of my house. And then I add in the shoots I really want to attend and have a reasonable chance of attending like PA State and Westy Hogans and zones. That way I can see any conflicts and chose the shoots I prefer AND get a fair idea of what it will cost in gas-fees-room and board to attend every thing. Then based on my fixed income I may have to remove a shoot that I simply can't afford to attend.

I check the sites regularly and adjust as more shoots are added for the fall and into the winter.

It sounds like a lot of work but really isn't besides being retired I have lots of time for it and loading shells. In the 4 years since I retired I have been shooting between 5500 and 9000 registered targets per year. For me health caused more changes than income so I guess I am lucky.

--- Chip King ---

3. JACK

JACK Well-Known Member Supporting Vendor

Play the money, shoot good, problem solved

4. plaw

plaw Active Member