1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

bt99 closing Kaboom

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by andrew pofahl, Jun 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. andrew pofahl

andrew pofahl TS Member

Three times in the last 300 birds my Bt99 went off as soon as i closed my gun... it was always pointed at the trap house, but holy crap batman, i almost had to change my shorts... i am not 100% sure i didnt accidentally hit the trigger, but seeing as though i have been shooting for three years and have not had it happen once, that it was probably the gun. Has anyone else ever experienced this? Could the firing pin not be pulling back all the way and then the force of the gun closing setting off the primer? Any suggestions would help. Thanks. Bunker

2. rosies dad

rosies dad Member

Has anyone ever "tuned" the trigger? If not, could be some crud or wear.

3. oleolliedawg

oleolliedawg Banned User Banned TS Supporters

Usually a buildup of crud that needs to be removed by first driving out the receiver pin. Then remove the lever at the receiver bottom and look for a buildup of powder particles in front of the sear. Flush repeatedly and re-assemble. Your problem should be solved!!

4. andrew pofahl

andrew pofahl TS Member

Thanks for the advise. I trust my local gunsmith and maybe i will bring it to him for a "professional" cleaning... I have about 10,000 rounds through it since i purchased it, so i guess its time for a once over. Its a good thing thing that i did not hit the electrical box that feeds the house with power!! Bunker

5. andrew pofahl

andrew pofahl TS Member