1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

BT 99 WON'T OPEN

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by GROUPER7, Oct 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GROUPER7

GROUPER7 Member

Hello all.
    Hope someone can help. Just put my BT99 together and now it didn't cock nor will it open. The lever is all the way to the right. Took forearm off but have not been able to push any of the protruding bits. I am new at this and have no clue on what to do short of taking it to a gunsmith.
    DOES ANY ONE HAVE A SUGGESTION??

Thanks in advance for any help.

Alex.

2. wayneo

wayneo Active Member

You don't have a shell in there do you?

If the gun is all together. Pull the trigger.

Wayne

3. Barkingspider21

Barkingspider21 Member

Take the recoil pad off and remove the stock and go from there. Woody

4. Stl Flyn

Stl Flyn Well-Known Member

The gun cocks when you open it, with the forend on.

Is the lever stuck in the open postion?

Try this, put the forend on. Then grab the barrel from the top with your fingers and put pressure on the rib toward the receiver above the forend with the palm of your hand. With the other hand hold it by the grip and push the lever to the right, while putting pressure on the top of the receiver. Basically putting extra pressure on the closed position, making the barrel lug push down farther in the receiver, taking the pressure off the locking block. Now hit the butt of the gun on a table or floor still with the lever held to the right and pressure on the top of the receiver. While holding the gun upright try to open the breech.

Sounds to me like your locking block is stuck into the barrel lug. Jon

5. GROUPER7

GROUPER7 Member

Wayne, Woody, Jon.

Thank you very much for the help.