1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

BT-99 Which Choke for 16 Yard Line?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Hungarian, Aug 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hungarian

Hungarian TS Member

Sorry for the beginners question.
    I am just getting started shooting trap. Since I am at the 16 yard line is the Full Choke okay to use shooting #8's ?

2. grntitan

grntitan Well-Known Member

Choke for smoke...Full choke from the 16 all the way back to the 27. Maybe someday i'll get back to the 27 so i can tell you exactly how good it works from there.----Matt

3. markdenis

markdenis TS Member

Hungarian

If you have more than one choke, shoot all of them several practice rounds to see which choke breaks the bird the hardest...find out which choke smokes the targets the most. You may be surprised! Many times a full choke will not throw as tight of a pattern as a more open choke like an improved modified or even modified.

But, by all means, when you find the one that hits the targets the hardest, use that one. Use the one that leaves nothing but a ball of smoke hanging in the air!.

If you stay in this game long enough, you will find out chips are the downfall of a good 16 yard shooter.

Mark Rounds

4. M Wayne

M Wayne TS Member

Hungarian, I also shoot a BT-99 and found that an improved modified works the best for me. I use the same choke back to the 23yd line. Makes for great smokeballs. Welcome to the sport. Mike

5. scooterbum

scooterbum Active Member

Use modified until you learn to point. Shot 1 straight today with modified, #8s, 7/8 oz., and 1 straight with light modified, #8s, 1 oz.

6. BT-99 TBTI

BT-99 TBTI TS Member

Improved Modified when first starting out. Then switch to full choke from the 16 all the way back to the 27. Ethan P.