1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

BT-99 vs Rem 870

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by bodybuilder, Dec 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bodybuilder

bodybuilder TS Member

I was looking into getting a BT-99 and I already have the Remington 870TC. Is there less recoil with the Browning? And would there be an advantage to switching? The 870TC is in excellent cond. so that is not a reason to switch but I hear alot of people talking about how they like the Browning. Thanks

2. Savage99Stan

Savage99Stan Active Member

I've been shooting an 870 TB since 1972 and have taken our club championship multiple times, and won a lot of other stuff. When times were really tough, I put a riot barrel on it and killed a few deer. It feels like a part of me. That said, I have had affairs with many other guns....a 101 trap, a Daley trap, a BT99, a Citori trap, a couple of 1100 trap guns and always came back to my TB. It has had several hundred thousand rounds through it and had only the trigger and one firing pin replaced. I've never measured the bore or spent any measurable time on the patterning board because it smokes targets. I used it in league one summer when we never got closer than 24 yards and spent most of the summer at 25 or 26. I had my highest summer league average that year...47.5. It is a non-monte, 30" full and seems to work best with 7 1/2's in the 3de load. I have a 30" modified trap barrel that is almost as good as the full. Once in a while I put it in timeout if it misbehaves and shoot something else but when the chips are down out it comes.