1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

BT-99, Recoil????

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by johnjjk, Jun 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. johnjjk

johnjjk Member

I am considering buying an BT-99 with just a parallel stock with no Graco absorber, as I want a dedicated 70/30 trap gun.

I wear a Past shooting pad as I am a competitive tennis playing with a Clavical that's a little bad so I have to be careful.

I started shooting about 10 months ago with a Side x Side field gun and I could feel it but there was no soreness in my shoulder. I can handle the recoil.

I started shooting a Beretta 391 Parallel Target gun and it a "Soft" shooter, hardling fell anything.

I have to be careful that's why I want to get some opinions/help on this breach loading gun as the recoil goes directly to the shoulder.

Does any feel it would be about the same as my SxS or a little more felt recoil??

Thanks for your imput.

2. cpd544

cpd544 Member

I shoot a BT-99 every week and have a torn rotator cuff. I do not have any problems going with the BT-99 after using a Remington 1100 for a while before that. If you shoot the light target loads you should not have any problems with felt recoil.
    Jim

3. phirel

phirel TS Member

Light loads will help. Adding weight to the gun will help. A Precision Fit Stock will help the most.

Pat Ireland

4. SirMissalott

SirMissalott Active Member

I had a Kickeze installed on mine VERY happy with it money well spent. IMHO

5. Tripod

Tripod Well-Known Member

I have an older fixed choke BT-99 and I have added a recoil reducer to the stock. I feel very little recoil even with my 1200 fps handicap loads. I shoot 7/8 for practice mainly to save shot.

6. dave391

dave391 TS Member