1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

BT-99 Lever Near Center, Action Tight???

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Rem870TB, Dec 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rem870TB

Rem870TB Active Member

I have been shooting trap since 1970 but never had a BT-99 until 2007 so I hope to get some experienced opinions from long term owners on this one.

I am wondering if I am close to a re-build?

Got it NIB in early 2007, it is a 2005 manufacture gun.

The lever was never really far right when I got it, maybe 1/8" to 3/16", (never measured it).

It is now about .030" right of center. It locks up very tight. There is no play in the barrel/forearm assembly about the hinge pin when it is open, it does not drop open and still takes a very slight effort to open.

If I din't look at the lever position, just by operation, everything is just fine.

The gun has a low round count, under 15,000. It is kept clean and lightly greased with STOS on the hinge pin and forearm iron. It is shot with 1150 and 1200 fps 1 oz loads, closed, never slammed shut.

For any long term BT-99 users, does this sound OK or does it some like a problem in the near-term?

2. wayneo

wayneo Active Member

Save this post. Then put another 15,000 down the pipe, and repost this. All kidding aside, with you're description how tight everything is it's got a lot of life left.

Wayne

3. BigM-Perazzi

BigM-Perazzi Well-Known Member

If it's right, it's tight...

4. Rem870TB

Rem870TB Active Member

Wayne

Thanks.

I have shot several break guns for periods of time over the last 40 years but most of my shooting has been those nasty old trap versions of repeaters ;)

You often read comments about "lever to the right"