1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

BT-99; Am I thinking Right?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by JD Jake, Sep 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JD Jake

JD Jake Member

I've been shooting trap for about four years. I currently shoot a Browning XT and want to get a single bbl trap gun.

I'm leaning toward getting a BT-99-AR (adjustable rib) that Browning makes exclusively for one or two gun shops. The starting price is $2k, and an adjustable comb and porting costs extra.

To get a different new single bbl break open, I'd probably have to spend at least $1,500 more (total of $3,500) and it wouldn't necessarily have an adjustable rib. I'm not convinced the extra money for a higher priced gun would pay off in terms of increased quality, etc.

I'd appreciate people's thoughts on this.

Thanks,

JD

2. RobertT

RobertT Well-Known Member

Bought an XT and had it modified to my liking. No looking back, couldn't be happier. Could have spent thousands more and not gained a thing.

Robert

3. wireguy

wireguy TS Member

For the money I just don't think you can beat Browning's target shotguns. What few problems ever arise (lower firing pin) are so well known and the fix so cheap, for the average person or a first serious target shotgun I think they are a great deal.

4. StonewallRacing

StonewallRacing Well-Known Member

Jake,

Who sells the BT-99 AR?

That doesn't ring a bell to me....

SW

5. JD Jake

JD Jake Member

Monsoors in Wisconsin. They advertise the BT-99-AR in Shotgun Sports.

6. Beretta Young Gun

Beretta Young Gun Active Member