1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Bruised Cheek Help

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Aintlost, Apr 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Aintlost

Aintlost Member

I've been shooting the same gun for 3 years;however this year when I shoot the gun is bruisng my cheek. I've lowered the comb thing that I might have added a few pounds over the past winters.
    If this is a pitch problem which direction should I shim the butt pad, and how much.

2. Beretta687EELL

Beretta687EELL Well-Known Member

Try the shim (or a couple of flat washers) under the top screw of the recoil pad. The shim should be thicker at the top. Bill Malcolm

3. hmb

hmb Well-Known Member

Place a washer on the top screw of the butt pad between the pad and the stock. Add washers as needed to stop the bruising. HMB

4. Bob Schultz

Bob Schultz Well-Known Member Supporting Vendor

If your recoil pad has a sharp point on the toe, use a belt sander and round it out so the gun does not pivot up and into your face. Advice above is correct, spacers at the top of the recoil pad. You might need as much as 3/8 " but start with 1/8 and work up to a comfort level. If you go to much you will have a little trouble with high rising targets.

Bob

5. Dave P

Dave P TS Supporters TS Supporters

Please explain, It seems to me that putting a washer at the top would increase the recoil via increasing the angle of recoil. I would think that shortening the toe(? top of the recoil pad) would direct the recoil down. Just an amateur comment.

6. nubs

nubs TS Member

I had the same problem. I tried changing things on the gun and this made other things worse. For me it ended up that I was standing up a little to straight and by just a little more weight on the front foot did wonders.

7. g7777777