1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Browning XT recoil reduction ???

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by dog easy, Nov 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dog easy

dog easy TS Member

What is the best way to reduce the recoil on a Browning XT? I have been shooting this gun twice a month for two years and the kick is starting to get to me. Two weeks recovery time is just not enough. Surely someone has a system that works very well and doesn't cost a million dollars to install?

Thanks a lot.

Shoot Safe, John

2. Dickgshot

Dickgshot Well-Known Member

You'd be hard pressed to find a gun that kicks as little as the XT. It is a fairly heavy gun, the barrels are overbored, and the stock has virtually no slope-either the monte carlo or the straight stock.
    The problem is either the way the gun fits you or the shells you're using.

3. hmb

hmb Well-Known Member

Put some lead in the butt stock, once you get the gun to weigh more than 10 lbs. the recoil will go away. Also adjust the pitch of the butt stock so the recoil pad makes full contact with your shoulder. HMB

4. ec90t

ec90t Guest

John,

You should be able to find a gunsmith that would install a LOP adjustable GraCoil in the $300.00 neighborhood. If your XT has the factory adjustable comb, it may cost a bit more because of the adjuster screw. A Bump-Buster will probably cost you a little more.

ec90t

5. jrb100

jrb100 Member