1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Browning XT 12 Gauge for skeet and sporting clays?

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by Shooter-4-Fun, Sep 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shooter-4-Fun

Shooter-4-Fun TS Member

Greetings to all. I am new to the sport and new to the forum. I have enjoyed shooting trap recently and look forward to improving my game. While I shoot trap regularly I will occasionally shoot skeet and sporting clays. When I purchased my Browning XT my intent was to use the gun for skeet and sporting clays as well. Perhaps the "one gun" pursuit is not practical. I have read mixed opinions as to whether my XT would be suitable for skeet and sporting clays. Some have said the XT is fine as an all around gun while others report fine for skeet but horrible for sporting clays. I could really use some more feedback particular from a regular trap shooter who has "crossed" the gun over into other clay sports. I am too new to the sport to be able to assess whether my missed shots are gun related or shooter related. For example, last week I was shooting a Beretta field model o/u and kept missing shots shooting wobble trap. Another shooter let me shoot his Remington 3200 Trap Gun and I hit four shots in a row. I went back to the Beretta and missed. It if is gun related I would like to know if there are ways to adjust the gun to be more effective. I don't want to develop bad shooting habbits by using a gun not set-up for anything other than dedicated trap. My gun is a 32" Browning XT with adjustable comb and an adjustable recoil pad. I know I must experiment for myself to truly know how the gun performs in other clay sports but having some real life examples could also be helpful. Thanks-

2. Pull & Mark

Pull & Mark Well-Known Member