1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Browning Gold Hunter 20-ga as a first gun?

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by snevah, Apr 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. snevah

snevah TS Member

I am just getting into the sporting clays sport and I am looking to get a decent shotgun as a first gun. My budget is fairly limited. I have decided to go with a 20 ga auto loader both to keep the costs down and to minimize recoil (I hope to shoot with my father who is getting older and is concerned about recoil).

So, I have found a local retailer who has a new 28" Browning Gold Hunter in 20 ga. I was planning on purchasing this gun and using it for trap, skeet and sporting clays and eventually some hunting.

So I am curious what people think. Is this a good purchase for $750 or so in CA?

Thanks you very much

-----------

Note: I also posted this same question at sportingclays.net in hopes of getting some good quick feedback as the sale on the shotgun ends soon.

Thanks

2. cubancigar2000

cubancigar2000 Well-Known Member

not a bad choice but I think I would go with the new Winchester SuperX3

3. snevah

snevah TS Member

Thanks for the advice, I will have to look that gun up. Do you know the approximate cost?

Thanks!

4. highflyer

highflyer TS Member

I have never used any of the new Browning autos but they are offered at a good price. They just came out with a 20 gauge Browning Silver that I wouldn't mind owning. I own a Remington 20 gauge auto that I love to use. I don't know if you can get the Beretta for the same price or not. They do have the Walmart special Beretta. I never liked the look or feel of the Beretta compared to the Remington but they are supposed to be very good guns. The 20 gauge Browning Silver is a good looking gun.

5. wolfram