1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Bore Diameters - Interesting Results!

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by timb99, May 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. timb99

timb99 Well-Known Member

Just to satisfy my own curiosity, and also because I'm an engineer geek, I borrowed a friend's bore gauge just to see what the bores on my various guns measure.

I was surprised at a few of the results.

Zoli Skeet O/U - 0.726" top / 0.726" bottom<br>
    Zoli Trap O/U - 0.7245" top / 0.724" bottom<br>
    Stoeger Condor O/U - 0.729" top / 0.730" bottom (yeah, I know its a cheap gun, but its served me well)<br>
    CZ 712 Semi Auto - 0.724"<br>
    Remington 1100 30" magnum I just bought - 0.735" (kind of a surprise it was that big, plus its choked 0.697" for a 0.038" constriction.)<br>
    Mossberg 500 - 0.732"<br>
    Mossberg 18.5" barrel - 0.731"

Now here's the one I was most surprised about:

My daughter's left-hand 1100 step-rib trap barrel - 0.745" Cripes, no wonder she vaporizes targets with a 0.705" improved modified choke tube.

2. Bob Hawkes

Bob Hawkes Well-Known Member

timb99, You don't need to be an engineer geek to be interested in the real choke designations. One of the best tools to own is a bore guage, then you know what you really have in the barrel. Both intereting and educational. Check out Garry's guage, handy to have. Shoot often while we can, Bob

3. ABH

ABH Member

Timb99,

With a 745 bore and 705 tube, your daughter is shooting a .040 choke barrel.Thats Full or Xtra full in anybodys book.

ART H.

4. pheasantsgalore

pheasantsgalore Active Member