1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.

Blown pattern--Fact or Fiction

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by 1oldtimer, May 17, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 1oldtimer

1oldtimer TS Member

I have been shooting shotguns for 65+ years. The term "blown pattern" comes up every so often. Is this an old wives tale or is it factual. What would cause a blown pattern? Excessive speed? Paper wads with rolled crimp? If speed was the cause. 7/8 ounce loads would all have a blown pattern? Clyde
  2. Rick Barker

Rick Barker Well-Known Member

I don't know if I am ready for popcorn this early in the morning. : (
  3. Hap MecTweaks

Hap MecTweaks Active Member

Clyde, blown patterns are directly related to shot hardness, quality of the wads ability to absorb high chamber pressures and velocity. With the quality of hard shot available today, it is tough to blow a pattern. 65 years ago, most all shot was soft chilled shot and most target loads were loaded to 1100-1200 fps. I'm sure you'll remember that Arnold Riegger always shot a 2-3/4 dr load and for good reason? The man dominated the sport of trapshooting for a lot of years and is claimed to have been the main reason we had a yardage increase from the 25 to 27 yards.

Study our sports history and you'll see the time line where improvements and rule changes made the sport what it is today?

Blown patterns may be perceived as myth today but certainly not when you began shooting 65 years ago. Especially attempting to get high velocity loads with soft shot! Better shot became available to reloaders in 1965 along with a one piece all plastic wad, the Winchester AA.

Hap
  4. GW22

GW22 Active Member

I don't know the answer to your question, my friend, but I wish you luck in finding it.

God is Love.

Sincerely,
    Gary