1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

best wads for remington gun club shells

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Blueraven81, Dec 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Blueraven81

Blueraven81 TS Member

I'm new to reloading so don't hesitate to explain it to me simply.

I'm using Winchester Primers, and Hodgon's powder.

Any advice of what wads to use for reloading 1 and 1 1/8 oz. 2 3/4 12g Remington Gun Club shells. I've had one recommendation to use Downrange.
    A specific part number would be helpful.

Thanks,
    Blueraven

2. oleolliedawg

oleolliedawg Banned User Banned TS Supporters

3. OldRemFan

OldRemFan Member

I like the Downrange DRRT12 for 1 oz loads. Downrange lists them as a direct replacement for Remington TGT-12 & CB8100-12

I like the Downrange Windjammer style WJ-12-RPL wads for the 1-1/8 oz load. Downrange shows them as a replacement for WTW-12, WJ1, and CB-4118-12 wads.

As always use a reliable source for your loading data provided from sources such as Hodgdon, Lyman 5th edition shotshell handbook, wad manufacturers, etc., and DO NOT ASSUME it is OK to substitute other components with those listed in the loading manuals.

4. halfmile

halfmile Well-Known Member

Any recipe used in Remington STS hulls may be used in Gun Clubs.

HM

5. AveragEd

AveragEd Well-Known Member

I use Remington TGT-12S wads, the same wad I use in STS hulls. The Remington RXP Power Piston is the wad used in GC factory loads but the TGT-12S is recognized as being a better wad.

Ed

6. short shucker

short shucker TS Member

blueraven,

If you are refering to shells loaded for singles, I like the TGT-12 or the Figure 8 wad (DownRange or Remington). If I loading for longer range handicap, 25yd+, then I'll use the DownRange Versalite.

ss

7. zzt